Who We Are 2021-05-17T22:17:33+00:00
About Civic

Our Vision

To enrich the lives of citizens through live theater by expanding their insight into the human condition.

Our Values

To provide a safe, inclusive and collaborative venue, sustained by a broad foundation of volunteers, where theatrical art is created to entertain, to enlighten, and to stimulate reflection and critical thinking.

Our Mission

To foster an enduring love for live theatre in every community member.

Our History

Spokane Civic Theatre is a nationally recognized non-profit theatre located in Spokane, Washington. Incorporated in 1947, our theatre is one of the oldest community theatres in the country.

From the outset, Spokane Civic Theatre has been active in a number of activities, both social and theatrical, and the tradition of public education has continued throughout our history.

Our Building

Performances were first staged at the old Post Theater, then in the Riverside Playhouse from 1957 -1967. Our present facility opened in 1967 where we continue to perform productions today.Our present facility houses two performance spaces: the Main Stage theatre and the Firth J. Chew Studio Theatre. The main auditorium is a proscenium theatre with a seating capacity of 339, while the Studio theatre is a small black box theatre seating approximately 88. The backstage area houses a scene shop, costume shop, storage for props, a fully furnished green room, and dressing rooms.

Spokane Civic Theatre is one of only a few community theatres that owns its own building and land.

Our Sponsors

Season and production sponsorships underwrite a large portion of the cost of production for each performance. We are proud to have the following individuals and companies sponsoring the 2018-2019 season.


Spokane Civic Theatre has more than 1,000 volunteers who serve as actors, back stage crews, house managers, ushers, and board members. These volunteers contribute an estimated 55,000 hours every year.

Volunteers return to Civic time and again to support the theatre’s endeavors. In addition to volunteering their time, the Spokane Community has given incredible amounts in the form of donations that support us in our mission to provide and promote theatre excellence.

Get Involved!

Board of Directors

  • President: Christina Wolf

  • Vice President: Randy Schwaegler

  • Treasurer: Sallie Christensen

  • Secretary: Janice Abramson

  • Member at Large: Ted Redman

Board of Directors

  • Board Member: Kenneth R. Bick

  • Board Member: Kathie Doyle-Lipe

  • Board Member: Corey Kahler

  • Board Member: Cyndi Selly

  • Member Emeritus: Margot Ogden (1925-2015)

Endowment Board

  • President: Mary Starkey

  • Treasurer: Steve Barrett

  • Board Member: Bob Francis

  • Board Member: Gail McLaughlin